History Of the Deity

History Of the Deity:


Jagannatha is not the only deity worshipped in the temple, though it is known as the ‘Jagannatha Temple’. But along with Jagannatha, two others namely, Balabhadra, and Subhadra are also worshipped here. These three, constitute the basic and fundamental trinity and are considered to be the forms and manifestations of the omnipresent, omniscient and omnipotent supreme power.


The deities of the Mayapur Ratha Yatra generally known as the Utsava Vigraha.  The new kalevara ‘Uthsava Vigraha’ of Lord Jagannath (Mayapur) was performed under the supervision of Sripad Jagadhatriha Das and Sripad Aloy Govinda Das, in a very long and special rituals. In 2007, the logs of neem wood were collected from the forest of Bethuadahari. After that those logs were dipped into the Ganges for three months. After dried the wood, Nimai Govinda Das Adhikari made the new kalevara of Lord Baladeva, Lord Jagannth and Subhadra in three months. And from 2008, the glorius ratha yatra started with Nava (new) Kalevara.



Mayapur Land Department also organize ‘Snana Yatra’ for three Years. In 2015, Aloy Govinda Prabhu made beautiful ‘Snana Bedi’ with his own initiative by spending his own money for Snana Yatra Festival.


Jai Jagannath!!!